Lausanne Tourism - Plan Your Trip

Assist travelers in the best possible way in planning their stay in Lausanne.

Websites & Apps

Lausanne Tourism was founded in 1887 to promote the city of Lausanne, both in Switzerland and abroad, and to provide good welcoming conditions to visitors. This is done with the support and collaboration of the Lausanne authorities and its tourist partners. Lausanne, the capital of the Canton of Vaud and the 4th largest city in Switzerland, shines with its dynamism and openness, in terms of economy, culture, sports, and academia.

The recent international health crisis has greatly restricted the possibilities of traveling abroad during holidays and/or weekends. Swiss incoming tourism, and more specifically Lausanne in this example, has therefore been affected in 2020-2021. The health situation has limited the possibilities for the Lausanne destination to shine on the cultural and sports scene. Furthermore, competition in terms of tourism remains strong at the national level.

In 2022, with the health situation improved significantly in Switzerland, prospects for a return to normal are also being felt. Lausanne Tourism has already been collaborating with our teams on various web and marketing projects since 2017, so we were mandated with a new project beginning in 2022, in order to contribute to the improvement of online support for tourists and travelers who wish to discover or rediscover the Olympic Capital, by offering them a ready-made stay program, tailored to their needs.

See the Plan Your Trip platform

Delivrables

  • Websites & Apps
Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Objectives

The role of our team in this project is to create a digital tool to maximize the influx of tourists in the region, by encouraging the discovery of the Lausanne destination over several days and thus contributing to the prosperity of local tourism providers.

Through this new platform, Lausanne Tourism aims to give visibility to its destination by highlighting its many attractions suitable for all tastes, while facilitating the choice of travelers in their user journey and their travel organization.

The objectives of this digital tool are as follows:

  • Link the different online offer ecosystems of Lausanne Tourism already existing to present them in a grouped and relevant way in the user journey
  • Accompany the traveler in the optimal planning of his stay
  • Inspire the traveler by offering a panel of experiences and services that match his needs
  • Promote the available restaurants in the destination
  • Boost hotel reservations and experiences offered by the city
  • Collect additional and relevant practical data on user profiles.
Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Objectives

The role of our team in this project is to create a digital tool to maximize the influx of tourists in the region, by encouraging the discovery of the Lausanne destination over several days and thus contributing to the prosperity of local tourism providers.

Through this new platform, Lausanne Tourism aims to give visibility to its destination by highlighting its many attractions suitable for all tastes, while facilitating the choice of travelers in their user journey and their travel organization.

The objectives of this digital tool are as follows:

  • Link the different online offer ecosystems of Lausanne Tourism already existing to present them in a grouped and relevant way in the user journey
  • Accompany the traveler in the optimal planning of his stay
  • Inspire the traveler by offering a panel of experiences and services that match his needs
  • Promote the available restaurants in the destination
  • Boost hotel reservations and experiences offered by the city
  • Collect additional and relevant practical data on user profiles.

Our approach

To successfully complete this project, we collaborated closely with Lausanne Tourism's web and communication departments. Together, we imagined and developed the "Plan Your Trip" inspiration engine by proposing the structure, development, and management of the tool, while receiving content from the client. Our role was also to provide technical consulting to answer the client's questions and explain how the tool works throughout the project.

To meet the varied needs of users, we developed 2 tool options:

  1. Pre-assembled and pre-made travel planning proposals by Lausanne Tourism
  2. A multi-step question journey that allows for a personalized planning proposal based on the user's preferences and profile.

Our basic assumption was that many tourists are interested in discovering Lausanne, but they don't always know where to start when organizing their stay in the Olympic Capital. The goal was therefore to best assist the user in their research by asking relevant questions about their traveler profile and desires, to quickly and automatically create a program that suits them.

The crucial point of this collaboration was to create a platform that could link all the relevant elements of Lausanne Tourism's web ecosystem, in order to present them to the user at the right moment to better convert them. Taking into account the traveler's profile and travel dates, our team developed a tool that collects, presents, and directs the user to all the available offers associated with their stay, by creating a complete schedule.

The challenge faced by Lausanne Tourism was then to regularly control and update the availability and schedules of the different services (accommodations, restaurants, cultural sites, tours, experiences) to offer a credible and correct program to the traveler according to their stay dates, and thus avoid unpleasant surprises on site.

To encourage the user to convert, relevant promotional offers highlighting local tourism providers are also offered in parallel to their stay schedule to complete their stay offer.

Results

With the development of this travel companion, now available on the Lausanne Tourism website, the user experience of tourists seeking inspiration for their stay has been improved. Indeed, the platform allows the user to easily communicate their preferences to receive personalized recommendations that match their needs and travel settings, such as travel dates and number of travelers. Tourists' interests are now at the center of the tool and their desires are taken into account. Among the many service options offered by the city, each person can quickly and easily find what suits them.

The automatically designed stay programs allow visitors to fill their days by proposing activities and restaurants for each part of the day. The organization of travelers is then simplified thanks to the expert advice provided. In addition, travelers can print their personalized program or access it via a unique QR code to consult it during their stay. The service is therefore turnkey.

Results

With the development of this travel companion, now available on the Lausanne Tourism website, the user experience of tourists seeking inspiration for their stay has been improved. Indeed, the platform allows the user to easily communicate their preferences to receive personalized recommendations that match their needs and travel settings, such as travel dates and number of travelers. Tourists' interests are now at the center of the tool and their desires are taken into account. Among the many service options offered by the city, each person can quickly and easily find what suits them.

The automatically designed stay programs allow visitors to fill their days by proposing activities and restaurants for each part of the day. The organization of travelers is then simplified thanks to the expert advice provided. In addition, travelers can print their personalized program or access it via a unique QR code to consult it during their stay. The service is therefore turnkey.

Our approach

To successfully complete this project, we collaborated closely with Lausanne Tourism's web and communication departments. Together, we imagined and developed the "Plan Your Trip" inspiration engine by proposing the structure, development, and management of the tool, while receiving content from the client. Our role was also to provide technical consulting to answer the client's questions and explain how the tool works throughout the project.

To meet the varied needs of users, we developed 2 tool options:

  1. Pre-assembled and pre-made travel planning proposals by Lausanne Tourism
  2. A multi-step question journey that allows for a personalized planning proposal based on the user's preferences and profile.

Our basic assumption was that many tourists are interested in discovering Lausanne, but they don't always know where to start when organizing their stay in the Olympic Capital. The goal was therefore to best assist the user in their research by asking relevant questions about their traveler profile and desires, to quickly and automatically create a program that suits them.

The crucial point of this collaboration was to create a platform that could link all the relevant elements of Lausanne Tourism's web ecosystem, in order to present them to the user at the right moment to better convert them. Taking into account the traveler's profile and travel dates, our team developed a tool that collects, presents, and directs the user to all the available offers associated with their stay, by creating a complete schedule.

The challenge faced by Lausanne Tourism was then to regularly control and update the availability and schedules of the different services (accommodations, restaurants, cultural sites, tours, experiences) to offer a credible and correct program to the traveler according to their stay dates, and thus avoid unpleasant surprises on site.

To encourage the user to convert, relevant promotional offers highlighting local tourism providers are also offered in parallel to their stay schedule to complete their stay offer.

Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Team

  • Strategy & Project Management: Mathieu Croset, Managing Director
  • Development: Thibaut Maurice, Lead Web Developer
  • User Interface UI/UX: Georgia Baeni, UX & UI Designer

Team

  • Strategy & Project Management: Mathieu Croset, Managing Director
  • Development: Thibaut Maurice, Lead Web Developer
  • User Interface UI/UX: Georgia Baeni, UX & UI Designer

Lausanne Tourisme - Plan Your Trip

Accompagner au mieux les voyageurs dans la planification de leur séjour à Lausanne.

Websites & Apps

Lausanne Tourisme a été fondé en 1887 pour promouvoir la ville de Lausanne, tant en Suisse qu'à l'étranger, et offrir de bonnes conditions d'accueil aux visiteurs. Cela se fait avec le soutien et la collaboration des autorités lausannoises et ses partenaires touristiques. Lausanne, la capitale du Canton de Vaud et la 4ème ville de Suisse, rayonne par son dynamisme et son ouverture, sur les plans économique, culturel, sportif et académique.

La crise sanitaire internationale récente a fortement restreint les possibilités de voyages à l'étranger durant les vacances et/ou les weekends. Le tourisme incoming Suisse, et plus précisément Lausannois dans cet exemple, en a donc été affecté en 2020-2021. La situation sanitaire a limité les possibilités pour la destination de Lausanne de pouvoir rayonner sur la scène culturelle et sportive. De plus, la concurrence en termes de tourisme reste forte au niveau national.

En 2022, la situation sanitaire s'étant nettement améliorée en Suisse, les perspectives d'un retour à la normale se font donc également ressentir. Lausanne Tourisme collabore déjà avec nos équipes sur divers projets web et marketing depuis 2017, nous avons donc été mandatés sur un nouveau projet début 2022, afin de contribuer à l'amélioration de l'accompagnement en ligne des touristes et voyageurs souhaitant découvrir ou redécouvrir la Capitale Olympique, en leur proposant un programme de séjour clé en main, pensé à leur image.

Voir la plateforme Plan Your Trip

Delivrables

  • Websites & Apps
Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Objectif

Le rôle de notre équipe dans ce projet est de créer un outil digital pour maximiser l'afflux de touristes dans la région, en encourageant la découverte de la destination de Lausanne sur plusieurs jours et en contribuant ainsi à la prospérité des prestataires touristiques locaux.

A travers cette nouvelle plateforme, Lausanne Tourisme vise à redonner de la visibilité à sa destination en mettant en avant ses nombreux attraits adaptés à tous les goûts, tout en facilitant le choix des voyageurs dans leur parcours-utilisateur et leur organisation de voyage.

Les objectifs de cet outil digital sont les suivants:

  • Lier les différents écosystèmes d'offres en ligne de Lausanne Tourisme déjà existants pour les présenter de manière groupée et pertinente dans le parcours-utilisateur
  • Accompagner le voyageur dans la planification de son séjour de manière optimale
  • Inspirer le voyageur en lui proposant un panel d'expériences et de prestations correspondant à ses besoins
  • Promouvoir les lieux de restauration disponibles dans la destination
  • Booster les réservations d'hôtels et d'expériences proposées par la ville
  • Récupérer des données pratiques supplémentaires et pertinentes sur le profil des utilisateurs.
Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Objectif

Le rôle de notre équipe dans ce projet est de créer un outil digital pour maximiser l'afflux de touristes dans la région, en encourageant la découverte de la destination de Lausanne sur plusieurs jours et en contribuant ainsi à la prospérité des prestataires touristiques locaux.

A travers cette nouvelle plateforme, Lausanne Tourisme vise à redonner de la visibilité à sa destination en mettant en avant ses nombreux attraits adaptés à tous les goûts, tout en facilitant le choix des voyageurs dans leur parcours-utilisateur et leur organisation de voyage.

Les objectifs de cet outil digital sont les suivants:

  • Lier les différents écosystèmes d'offres en ligne de Lausanne Tourisme déjà existants pour les présenter de manière groupée et pertinente dans le parcours-utilisateur
  • Accompagner le voyageur dans la planification de son séjour de manière optimale
  • Inspirer le voyageur en lui proposant un panel d'expériences et de prestations correspondant à ses besoins
  • Promouvoir les lieux de restauration disponibles dans la destination
  • Booster les réservations d'hôtels et d'expériences proposées par la ville
  • Récupérer des données pratiques supplémentaires et pertinentes sur le profil des utilisateurs.

Notre approche

Pour mener à bien ce projet, nous avons collaboré en étroite collaboration avec les départements web et communication de Lausanne Tourisme. Nous avons imaginé et développé ensemble le moteur d'inspiration "Plan Your Trip" en proposant la structure, le développement et la gestion de l'outil, tout en recevant les contenus de la part du client. Notre rôle était également d'apporter un consulting technique pour répondre aux questions du client et de lui expliquer comment fonctionne l'outil tout au long du projet.

Pour répondre aux besoins variés des utilisateurs, nous avons développé 2 options d'outil:

  1. Des propositions de planning de voyages pré-assemblées et pré-faites par Lausanne Tourisme
  2. Un parcours de questions en plusieurs étapes qui permet de proposer un planning personnalisé selon les préférences et le profil de l'utilisateur.

Notre postulat de base était que de nombreux touristes sont intéressés à découvrir Lausanne, mais qu'ils ne savent pas toujours par où commencer pour organiser leur séjour dans la Capitale Olympique. L'objectif était donc d'accompagner au mieux l'utilisateur dans ses recherches en lui posant des questions pertinentes sur son profil de voyageur et ses envies, pour lui concocter rapidement et automatiquement un programme qui lui corresponde.

Le point crucial de cette collaboration était de créer une plateforme qui puisse relier tous les éléments pertinents de l'écosystème web de Lausanne Tourisme, afin de les présenter au bon moment à l'utilisateur pour mieux le convertir. En prenant en compte le profil du voyageur et ses dates de voyage, notre équipe a développé un outil qui collecte, présente et renvoie l'utilisateur vers toutes les offres disponibles associées à son séjour, en lui concoctant un planning complet.

Le défi rencontré par Lausanne Tourisme était alors de contrôler et mettre à jour régulièrement la disponibilité et les horaires des différentes prestations (hébergements, lieux de restauration, lieux culturels, visites, expériences) pour proposer un programme crédible et correct au voyageur selon ses dates de séjour, et éviter ainsi les mauvaises surprises sur place.

Pour inciter l'utilisateur à convertir, des offres promotionnelles pertinentes mettant en avant des prestataires touristiques locaux lui sont également proposées en parallèle de son planning de séjour pour compléter son offre de séjour.

Résultats

Grâce au développement de ce compagnon de voyage, maintenant disponible sur le site de Lausanne Tourisme, l'expérience utilisateur des touristes en quête d'inspiration de séjour a été améliorée. En effet, la plateforme permet à l'utilisateur de communiquer facilement ses préférences pour recevoir des recommandations personnalisées qui correspondent à ses besoins et à ses paramètres de voyage, tels que les dates de voyage et le nombre de voyageurs. Les intérêts des touristes sont maintenant au centre de l'outil et leurs envies sont prises en compte. Parmi les nombreuses options de prestations proposées par la ville, chacun peut rapidement et facilement trouver ce qui lui convient.

Les programmes de séjours conçus automatiquement par la plateforme permettent de remplir les journées des visiteurs en leur proposant des activités et des lieux de restauration pour chaque partie de la journée. L'organisation des voyageurs est alors simplifiée grâce au conseil expert apporté. En plus, les voyageurs peuvent imprimer leur programme personnalisé ou y accéder via un code QR unique pour le consulter pendant leur séjour. Le service est donc clé en main.

Résultats

Grâce au développement de ce compagnon de voyage, maintenant disponible sur le site de Lausanne Tourisme, l'expérience utilisateur des touristes en quête d'inspiration de séjour a été améliorée. En effet, la plateforme permet à l'utilisateur de communiquer facilement ses préférences pour recevoir des recommandations personnalisées qui correspondent à ses besoins et à ses paramètres de voyage, tels que les dates de voyage et le nombre de voyageurs. Les intérêts des touristes sont maintenant au centre de l'outil et leurs envies sont prises en compte. Parmi les nombreuses options de prestations proposées par la ville, chacun peut rapidement et facilement trouver ce qui lui convient.

Les programmes de séjours conçus automatiquement par la plateforme permettent de remplir les journées des visiteurs en leur proposant des activités et des lieux de restauration pour chaque partie de la journée. L'organisation des voyageurs est alors simplifiée grâce au conseil expert apporté. En plus, les voyageurs peuvent imprimer leur programme personnalisé ou y accéder via un code QR unique pour le consulter pendant leur séjour. Le service est donc clé en main.

Notre approche

Pour mener à bien ce projet, nous avons collaboré en étroite collaboration avec les départements web et communication de Lausanne Tourisme. Nous avons imaginé et développé ensemble le moteur d'inspiration "Plan Your Trip" en proposant la structure, le développement et la gestion de l'outil, tout en recevant les contenus de la part du client. Notre rôle était également d'apporter un consulting technique pour répondre aux questions du client et de lui expliquer comment fonctionne l'outil tout au long du projet.

Pour répondre aux besoins variés des utilisateurs, nous avons développé 2 options d'outil:

  1. Des propositions de planning de voyages pré-assemblées et pré-faites par Lausanne Tourisme
  2. Un parcours de questions en plusieurs étapes qui permet de proposer un planning personnalisé selon les préférences et le profil de l'utilisateur.

Notre postulat de base était que de nombreux touristes sont intéressés à découvrir Lausanne, mais qu'ils ne savent pas toujours par où commencer pour organiser leur séjour dans la Capitale Olympique. L'objectif était donc d'accompagner au mieux l'utilisateur dans ses recherches en lui posant des questions pertinentes sur son profil de voyageur et ses envies, pour lui concocter rapidement et automatiquement un programme qui lui corresponde.

Le point crucial de cette collaboration était de créer une plateforme qui puisse relier tous les éléments pertinents de l'écosystème web de Lausanne Tourisme, afin de les présenter au bon moment à l'utilisateur pour mieux le convertir. En prenant en compte le profil du voyageur et ses dates de voyage, notre équipe a développé un outil qui collecte, présente et renvoie l'utilisateur vers toutes les offres disponibles associées à son séjour, en lui concoctant un planning complet.

Le défi rencontré par Lausanne Tourisme était alors de contrôler et mettre à jour régulièrement la disponibilité et les horaires des différentes prestations (hébergements, lieux de restauration, lieux culturels, visites, expériences) pour proposer un programme crédible et correct au voyageur selon ses dates de séjour, et éviter ainsi les mauvaises surprises sur place.

Pour inciter l'utilisateur à convertir, des offres promotionnelles pertinentes mettant en avant des prestataires touristiques locaux lui sont également proposées en parallèle de son planning de séjour pour compléter son offre de séjour.

Plan Your Trip - Mockup

Équipe de projet

  • Stratégie & Gestion de projet: Mathieu Croset, Managing Director
  • Développement: Thibaut Maurice, Lead Web Developer
  • Interface utilisateur UI/UX: Georgia Baeni, UX & UI Designer

Équipe de projet

  • Stratégie & Gestion de projet: Mathieu Croset, Managing Director
  • Développement: Thibaut Maurice, Lead Web Developer
  • Interface utilisateur UI/UX: Georgia Baeni, UX & UI Designer